Home

HANIEL AS A FAMILY-EQUITY INVESTOR

We
develop

Companies

As a family-equity company, Haniel is building a portfolio with market leading companies. The rule is: We combine the professionalism of a private equity investor with the understanding of values of a family business.

Haniel has set a goal of increasing the portfolio to up to ten equity investments. Only those investments that fit with the Company and its values are considered. An investment filter serves to assess the potential business models as to the extent to which they make a contribution to the diversification of the Haniel portfolio, are sustainable and viable for the future, and generate a reasonable value contribution. Our goal is to find companies that can develop into market leaders with our help.

We support the growth of our portfolio companies. There is no blueprint for this; rather, we find an individual path for each division. We analyse precisely the current stage of the company’s growth and identify the core strategic themes. For example, portfolio companies on a dynamic growth path receive support through investment capital and know-how in financing, corporate governance, or HR. We can also offer mature companies targeted added value such as with respect to the digital transformation.


DIVISIONS AND FINANCIAL INVESTMENTS

OVERVIEW:

HANIEL’S PORTFOLIO

As a family-equity company Haniel is building a portfolio with market-leading companies. The rule is: We combine the professionalism of a private equity investor with the understanding of the values of a family business.
(Date of publication: June 30 2019)

DIVISION

bekaertdeslee

100%

EQUITY INTEREST

BekaertDeslee is a globally leading specialist for the development and manufacturing of woven and knitted mattress textiles and ready-made mattress covers.

DIVISION

cws

82.19%

EQUITY INTEREST

CWS is one of the leading international service providers of hygiene and workwear solutions.

DIVISION

elg

100%

EQUITY INTEREST

ELG is a global leader in the trading, processing and recycling of raw materials for the stainless steel industry as well as high performance materials such as superalloys, titanium and carbon fibres.

DIVISION

Optimar

100%

EQUITY INTEREST

Optimar is a global leader for automated fish handling systems for use on ships, on land and in aquacultures.

DIVISION

Rovema

100%

EQUITY INTEREST

ROVEMA is a global leader in the manufacturing of packaging machines and equipment for a wide variety of products and applications.

DIVISION

TAKKT

50.25%

EQUITY INTEREST

TAKKT bundles a portfolio of B2B direct marketing specialists for business equipment in Europe and North America in a single company.

FINANCIAL INVESTMENT

ceconomy

22.71%

EQUITY INTEREST

CECONOMY is Europe’s leading platform for companies, concepts and brands in the sector of consumer electronics.

FINANCIAL INVESTMENT

metro

15.20%

EQUITY INTEREST

METRO is one of the leading international companies in the wholesale and food service sector.

Investment strategy

What we are looking for

and how we find it

Haniel has EUR 1.3 billion for the further expansion of the portfolio (30 June 2019). Clear criteria determine which companies are considered for selection: The contribution to further diversification of the portfolio plays just as much a role as does future capability and an orientation towards sustainability. Ulrich Dickel, member of executive management and responsible for corporate development, explains which companies Haniel is on the lookout for, what the path to a new investment looks like, and what role family background plays at Haniel as well as at potential acquisition targets. Clarity about investment criteria such as growth prospects is essential to this process.

Ulrich Dickel

Member of the Executive Board, Corporate Development

As investors, we are something special: we seek to promote long-term development and added value by making targeted offers for our equity investments – from financing expertise in M&A, through our own digital unit Schacht One all the way to Haniel Academy for continuing education. This development perspective is attractive, especially for family owners who want to know their life’s work is in good hands. It is important to us that a clear majority shareholding is possible – either immediately or over the horizon.“

Successful integration

A Mammoth project

Integration

In addition to its day-to-day operations, since 2017 CWS has focused on integrating the activities acquired from Rentokil Initial. In 2018, Haniel’s largest division successfully drove forward the consolidation and reached important milestones. This included the reorganisation into two divisions: Hygiene Solutions offering washroom hygiene solutions and dust control mats, and Textile Solutions with a service portfolio covering workwear, protective clothing and cleanroom products. Read about what exactly has changed and how the employees received the mammoth Initial integration project in our 2018 online annual report: haniel-2018.corporate-report.net ▸


recent acquisitions

Bespoke approaches

for mechanical engineering

Optimar and ROVEMA were added to the portfolio at the end of 2017. Haniel’s most recent acquisitions are similar in fundamental ways: both manufacture machinery and equipment, and both are substantially smaller than Haniel’s other divisions. ROVEMA’s and Optimar’s employees have accomplished a lot – below, they discuss their thoughts on the acquisition.

Rovema

Pole position for ROVEMA, leading manufacturer of packaging machinery and equipment

ROVEMA is a global leader in the manufacturing of packaging machines and equipment for a wide variety of products and applications.

Nadja Richter

Marketing and Communications ROVEMA

Thanks to Haniel I now have many new colleagues in Marketing and Communications – this will be a great asset in my day-to-day work. As an SME with approximately 650 employees around the world, I could previously only dream of the many opportunities now offered to me through Haniel’s network.

Ralf Buch

CFO ROVEMA

The construction of our new hangar will provide us with not only more space to complete the final assembly of our machinery, but also a variety of manufacturing options in the area of materials flow. ROVEMA has experienced rapid and strong growth over many years and now its processes need to be reassessed and adapted. I am pleased to push forward with this development with Haniel at my side as an experienced partner so that we can make our company fit for the future over the long term.

Roland Kuhn

Vice President Sales ROVEMA

Our packaging machines have useful lives of up to 30 years. Our comprehensive service and replacement parts concept enable us to ensure optimum production efficiency and availability of machines over their entire useful lives. This long-term approach is a perfect fit with Haniel’s sustainable family equity approach. I am pleased to see our service concept continue to grow in the future – with a passion for our customers.

Optimar

A world leader, used onboard, on land and in aquacultures – Optimar’s automated fish handling systems.

Optimar is a global leader for automated fish handling systems for use on ships, on land and in aquacultures.

Roy Uggedal

Union representative Optimar

Being a part of Haniel provides me with greater security if there were temporary downturns or financial problems in the company. In addition, in such cases, Optimar can more easily make expensive and necessary adjustments if we have support from Haniel. I also see the possibility that Haniel can help Optimar to develop further and perhaps to other business areas with the help of Haniel’s experience and contact network. I also see now that Haniel as owners supports changes and improvements that we have had a great need for in the departments in Norway that might not have been possible to such an extent without Haniel. There is great potential and a lot of expertise in Optimar which I believe will be better exploited with Haniel as owners.

Bjørnar Vik

R&D Design Manager Optimar

I expect 2019 to be as busy as we’re used to, with lots of exciting development both on the product side and for the business as a whole. Optimar has been growing quite massively over the previous years, but maybe now we get to take a look around us and work for consolidating the quality of this growth. I think this will help us ensure top-notch customer experiences and at the same time prove profitable. Based on my understanding of Haniel, I think they have similar goals, and that they have some plans and experience on how we can get there. They will work side by side with us to structure new methods and tools and they will see them through.

Vebjørn Erstad

Finance Manager Optimar

I believe that in Haniel we have an owner who is dedicated to building a strong company and organisation, ready for further expansion. There is certainly a lot of expertise within Haniel that we already benefit from in various areas, and that advantage will only grow stronger as we learn to know each other better.


Tore Valderhaug

Active Chairman Optimar

Haniel and Optimar share many of the same values: integrity, honesty, transparency and a good cooperation. And we both want to develop Optimar in the future. Find out more about the work of Tore Valderhaug, Chairman Optimar in the video interview!

Home

HANIEL ALS FAMILY-EQUITY-INVESTOR

Wir
entwickeln

Unter-
nehmen

Als Family-Equity-Unternehmen gestaltet Haniel ein Portfolio mit marktführenden Unternehmen. Dabei gilt: Wir vereinen die Professionalität eines Private-Equity-Investors mit dem Werteverständnis eines Familienunternehmens.

Haniel hat es sich zum Ziel gesetzt, das Portfolio auf bis zu zehn Beteiligungen zu ergänzen. In Frage kommen nur solche Investments, die zum Unternehmen und den gelebten Werten passen. Ein Investitionsfilter dient dazu, die potenziellen Geschäftsmodelle dahingehend zu prüfen, inwieweit sie einen Beitrag zur Diversifikation des Haniel-Portfolios leisten, nachhaltig und zukunftsfähig sind sowie einen angemessenen Wertbeitrag erzielen. Unser Ziel ist es, Unternehmen zu finden, die sich mit unserer Hilfe zu Marktführern entwickeln können.

Wir unterstützen unsere Beteiligungen bei ihrem Wachstum. Dabei arbeiten wir nicht mit Blaupausen, sondern finden für jeden Geschäftsbereich einen individuellen Weg. Wir analysieren genau, in welchem Stadium des Wachstums sich das Unternehmen derzeit befindet und identifizieren die strategischen Kernthemen. Beteiligungen auf einem dynamischen Wachstumspfad erhalten beispielsweise Unterstützung durch Investitionskapital und Know-how in Sachen Finanzierung, Corporate Governance oder HR. Firmen mit einem hohen Reifegrad können wir darüber hinaus gezielten Mehrwert etwa im Hinblick auf den Digitalen Wandel bieten.

Geschäftsbereiche und Finanzbeteiligungen

Das Haniel-Portfolio

im Überblick

Als Investmentholding in Familienhand gestaltet Haniel seit 1756 aktiv ein Portfolio mit zukunftsorientierten Geschäftsmodellen und entwickelt Marktführer. Das Portfolio von Haniel besteht aus den folgenden sechs Geschäftsbereichen und zwei Finanzbeteiligungen:
(Stand: 30.06.2019)

Geschäftsbereich

bekaertdeslee

100%

Beteiligung

BekaertDeslee ist ein weltweit führender Spezialist für die Entwicklung und Herstellung von gewebten und gestrickten Stoffen für Matratzenbezüge sowie fertig konfektionierte Matratzenhüllen.

Geschäftsbereich

cws

82,19%

Beteiligung

CWS ist einer der international führenden Serviceanbieter von Hygiene- und Berufskleidungslösungen.

Geschäftsbereich

elg

100%

Beteiligung

ELG ist ein weltweit führendes Unternehmen für Handel, Aufbereitung und Recycling von Rohstoffen für die Edelstahlindustrie sowie Hochleistungswerkstoffen wie Superlegierungen, Titan und Karbonfasern.

Geschäftsbereich

Optimar

100%

Beteiligung

Optimar ist ein weltweit führendes Unternehmen für automatisierte Fisch-Verarbeitungssysteme zur Nutzung auf Schiffen, an Land und für Aquakulturen.

Geschäftsbereich

Rovema

100%

Beteiligung

ROVEMA ist ein international führender Hersteller von Verpackungsmaschinen und
-anlagen für die unterschiedlichsten Produkte und Anwendungsbereiche.

Geschäftsbereich

TAKKT

50,25%

Beteiligung

TAKKT bündelt ein Portfolio von B2B-Spezialversandhändlern für Geschäftsausstattung in Europa und Nordamerika in einem Unternehmen.

Finanzbeteiligung

ceconomy

22,71%

Beteiligung

CECONOMY ist die führende europäische Plattform für Unternehmen, Konzepte und Marken im Bereich Consumer Electronics.

Finanzbeteiligung

metro

15,20%

Beteiligung

METRO ist ein führender internationaler Spezialist für den Groß- und Lebensmittelhandel.

Investmentstrategie

was wir suchen

und wie wir es finden

Haniel verfügt über 1,3 Milliarden Euro für den weiteren Portfolioausbau (Stand 30.06.2019). Welche Unternehmen in die Auswahl kommen, bestimmen klare Kriterien: Der Beitrag zur weiteren Diversifikation des Portfolios spielt genauso eine Rolle wie Zukunftsfähigkeit und Nachhaltigkeitsorientierung. Ulrich Dickel, Mitglied der Geschäftsleitung und verantwortlich für die Unternehmensentwicklung, erläutert, welche Unternehmen Haniel sucht, wie der Weg zu einer neuen Beteiligung aussieht und welche Rolle der Familienhintergrund bei Haniel, aber auch bei potenziellen neuen Beteiligungen spielt. Klarheit über Investment-Kriterien wie Entwicklungsperspektiven ist dabei essenziell.

Ulrich Dickel

Mitglied der Geschäftsleitung, Unternehmensentwicklung

Wir sind als Investor besonders. Es geht uns um langfristige Entwicklung und Wertsteigerung mit gezielten Angeboten für unsere Beteiligungen – von Finanzierung, Expertise in M & A, über unsere eigene Digitaleinheit Schacht One, bis hin zur Haniel Akademie für Fortbildungen. Diese Entwicklungsperspektive ist gerade für Familienunternehmer, die ihr Lebenswerk in guten Händen wissen wollen, attraktiv. Uns ist es wichtig, dass eine klare Mehrheitsposition erreichbar ist – entweder direkt oder perspektivisch.“

Erfolgreiche Integration

Mammutprojekt

Integration

Seit 2017 ist CWS neben dem laufenden Geschäft darauf fokussiert, die erworbenen Aktivitäten von Rentokil Initial zu integrieren. 2018 hat Haniels größter Geschäftsbereich die Zusammenführung erfolgreich vorangetrieben und wichtige Meilensteine erreicht. Dazu gehörte die Ausrichtung in zwei Divisionen: „Hygiene Solutions“ mit Lösungsangeboten für Waschraumhygiene und Schmutzfangmatten sowie „Textile Solutions“ mit dem Leistungsspektrum Berufs- und Schutzkleidung sowie Reinraum. Was sich genau geändert hat und wie die Mitarbeiter das Mammutprojekt der Initial-Integration empfanden lesen Sie im Online-Geschäftsbericht 2018: haniel-2018.corporate-report.net ▸


jüngste Akquisitionen

Maßanzüge für

Maschinenbau

Seit Ende 2017 gehören ROVEMA und Optimar zum Portfolio. Die jüngsten Akquisitionen Haniels haben entscheidende Gemeinsamkeiten: Beide stellen Maschinen und Anlagen her und beide sind wesentlich kleiner als die anderen Geschäftsbereiche. Die Mitarbeiter von ROVEMA und Optimar haben viel geleistet – und beschreiben nachfolgend wie sie die Übernahme empfanden.

Rovema

Pole Position für ROVEMA, führender Hersteller von Verpackungsmaschinen und -anlagen

ROVEMA ist ein international führender Hersteller von Verpackungsmaschinen und -anlagen für unterschiedlichste Produkte und Anwendungsbereiche insbesondere im Lebensmittelbereich.

Nadja Richter

Marketing und Kommunikation ROVEMA

Durch Haniel habe ich viele neue Kolleginnen und Kollegen im Bereich Marketing und Kommunikation dazu gewonnen – eine große Bereicherung für meine tägliche Arbeit. Als KMU mit rund 650 Mitarbeitern weltweit konnte ich von vielen Möglichkeiten, die mir das Haniel-Netzwerk bietet, bisher nur träumen.

Ralf Buch

CFO ROVEMA

Mit unserem Hallenneubau werden wir nicht nur mehr Platz für die Endmontage unserer Maschinen zur Verfügung haben, wir werden auch verschiedene Fertigungsoptimierungen im Bereich des Materialflusses durchführen. ROVEMA ist über viele Jahre schnell und stark gewachsen, nun müssen auch Prozesse überdacht und angepasst werden. Ich freue mich, mit Haniel als erfahrenen Partner diese Entwicklungen und Optimierungen voran zu treiben und so unser Unternehmen langfristig zukunftssicher zu machen.

Roland Kuhn

Vice President Sales ROVEMA

Unsere Verpackungsmaschinen sind ausgelegt auf eine Nutzungsdauer von bis zu 30 Jahren. Mit unserem umfassenden Service- und Ersatzteilkonzept stellen wir eine optimale Produktionseffizienz und Maschinenverfügbarkeit sicher – über die gesamte Einsatzzeit. Diese langfristige Ausrichtung passt perfekt zum nachhaltigen Ansatz des Family-Equity-Ansatzes von Haniel. Ich freue mich, unser Dienstleistungskonzept zukünftig weiter wachsen zu sehen – mit Leidenschaft für unseren Kunden.

Optimar

Weltweit führend und auf Schiffen, an Land und für Aquakulturen im Einsatz – automatisierte Fisch-Verarbeitungssysteme von Optimar

Optimar ist eines der weltweit führenden Unternehmen für automatisierte Fisch-Verarbeitungssysteme. Das Unternehmen produziert und installiert Lösungen zur Nutzung auf Schiffen, an Land und für Aquakulturen.

Roy Uggedal

Union representative Optimar

Ich habe das Gefühl, dass das Unternehmen als Teil von Haniel besser gegen vorübergehende Umsatzrückgänge oder finanzielle Probleme gewappnet ist. Darüber hinaus kann Optimar dank der Unterstützung von Haniel leichter kostenintensive und notwendige Anpassungen vornehmen. Ich sehe auch die Möglichkeit, dass Optimar zur Weiterentwicklung und Erschließung neuer Geschäftsfelder auf die Erfahrung und das Netzwerk von Haniel zurückgreift. Außerdem bin ich jetzt der Ansicht, dass Haniel als Eigentümer Veränderungen und Verbesserungen fördert, die in unseren Abteilungen in Norwegen dringend erforderlich waren und ohne die Unterstützung von Haniel eventuell nicht in diesem Umfang möglich gewesen wären. In Optimar steckt großes Potenzial, das unter der Eigentümerschaft von Haniel besser genutzt werden kann.

Bjørnar Vik

R&D Design Manager Optimar

Auch 2019 dürfte ein arbeitsreiches Jahr werden, in dem uns viele spannende Entwicklungen bei unseren Produkten und für das gesamte Unternehmen erwarten. Optimar ist in den vergangenen Jahren relativ stark gewachsen. Jetzt ist vielleicht der Zeitpunkt gekommen, an dem wir innehalten und die Qualität dieses Wachstums festigen können. Dies wird uns dabei helfen, ein herausragendes Kundenerlebnis sicherzustellen und gleichzeitig profitabel zu wirtschaften. Nach meinem Wissen hat Haniel ähnliche Ziele und verfügt über Pläne und Erfahrungen, die uns den Weg dorthin weisen. Haniel wird gemeinsam mit uns an der Entwicklung neuer Methoden und Werkzeuge arbeiten und ihre Einführung begleiten.

Vebjørn Erstad

Finance Manager Optimar

Mit Haniel haben wir einen Eigentümer gefunden, der entschlossen ist, ein starkes Unternehmen und eine tragfähige Organisation aufzubauen, um weiteres Wachstum zu erzielen. Haniel bündelt eine hohe Fachkompetenz, von der wir bereits in vielen Bereichen profitieren. Dieser Vorteil wird sich noch verstärken, je länger wir zusammenarbeiten.


Tore Valderhaug

Active Chairman Optimar

Haniel und Optimar teilen einen Großteil ihrer Werte: Integrität, Offenheit, Transparenz und gute Zusammenarbeit. Und beide wollen, dass Optimar gut für die Zukunft aufgestellt ist.

Erfahren Sie mehr über die Arbeit von Tore Valderhaug im Video-Interview!