Creditor Relations

 
 

FRANZ HANIEL & CIE. GMBH

Creditor Relations

A trusting dialogue

As a family-owned family-equity company the Haniel Holding Company is not listed on a stock exchange – however, we do have a capital-market orientation. This is because stable access to borrowed capital plays a vital role in our conservative approach to financing. Our cooperation with lenders is characterised by a spirit of equal treatment, openness and trust. For that reason, our aim is to provide our investors and financial service providers with all relevant information on developments at the Haniel Holding Company in a timely and comprehensive manner.

01

Financial strategy


Stable, flexible financing

Our long-term financing requirements are covered through equity and subordinated loans from our shareholders. In addition, we obtain financing via the capital market and through long-term, bilateral credit facilities.

A conservative market value gearing and balanced cash flows at the Holding Company level are part and parcel of financial management that is “enkelfähig”.

Within the framework of our conservative financial strategy, we continue to consider the level of net financial liabilities of up to EUR 1 billion as appropriate at present. We analyse this debt target regularly depending on the development of the Holding Company’s cash flows and the portfolio’s market value. Net financial liabilities amounted to EUR 337 million as at 30 June 2019.

02

Rating


Objective: a stable investment-grade rating

For secure and attractive access to the capital markets, we would like to provide our investors an external opinion as to our creditworthiness in the form of a rating; this is also important for the relevant analyses. Our objective is to permanently maintain our investment-grade ratings, and we believe that we are equipped to do so going forward.

In 2019 Deutsche Bundesbank again classified Haniel in a class synonymous with eligibility for central bank collateral. Additionally, Haniel now has an investment-grade rating from all commissioned rating agencies.

BAA3


Moody’s Investors Service (Moody’s)

Moody’s confirmed our long-term issuer rating from Ba1 to Baa3 in April 2019, with a “stable” outlook.


BBB-


Scope Ratings AG (Scope)

In April 2019, Scope confirmed our creditworthiness with a long-term issuer rating of BBB- with a “stable” outlook.


03

Instruments


Securing liquidity for the long term

In order to cover our liquidity needs in the long term, we use a diversified borrowing mix that includes bank and capital market financing. We take care to ensure that we have a balanced maturity structure for the financial instruments we conclude and that we have sufficient free lines of credit. We regularly renew our bilateral credit facilities without financial covenants. Haniel issues commercial paper and bonds on the capital market as a key component of its financial strategy.

Go to the Creditor Relations homepage:

www.haniel.de/en/creditor-relations

Creditor Relations

 
 

FRANZ HANIEL & CIE. GMBH

Creditor Relations

Vertrauensvoller Dialog

Als Family-Equity-Unternehmen in Familienbesitz ist die Haniel Holding nicht an der Börse notiert – dennoch handeln wir kapitalmarktorientiert. Denn der sichere Zugang zu Fremdkapital spielt in unserer konservativen Finanzierung eine wichtige Rolle. Unsere Zusammenarbeit mit Fremdkapitalgebern ist geprägt von Gleichbehandlung, Offenheit und Vertrauen. Deshalb ist es unser Anspruch, unsere Investoren und Finanzdienstleister aktuell und umfassend mit allen wesentlichen Informationen und Entwicklungen zur Haniel-Holding zu versorgen.

01

Finanzierungsstrategie


Solide und flexible Finanzierung

Unser langfristiger Finanzierungsbedarf ist durch Eigenkapital und subordinierte Darlehen unserer Gesellschafter gesichert. Darüber hinaus finanzieren wir uns über den Kapitalmarkt sowie über langfristige, bilaterale Kreditlinien.

Ein konservatives Marktwert-Gearing sowie ein ausgewogener Cashflow auf Holding-Ebene gehören für uns zu einem „enkelfähigen“ Finanzmanagement.

Im Rahmen unserer konservativen Finanzierungsstrategie halten wir weiterhin Nettofinanzschulden von bis zu 1 Milliarde Euro für derzeit angemessen. Wir analysieren diese Zielverschuldung regelmäßig in Abhängigkeit der Entwicklungen von Holding-Cashflows und Marktwert des Portfolios. Die Nettofinanzschulden per 30.6.2019 betrugen 337 Millionen Euro.

02

Rating


Ziel: Stabiles Investment-Grade-Rating

Für einen sicheren und attraktiven Zugang zu den Kapitalmärkten möchten wir unseren Investoren mit dem Rating eine externe Beurteilung unserer Bonität sowie entsprechende Analysen zur Verfügung stellen. Ziel ist die dauerhafte Beibehaltung unserer Investment-Grade-Ratings, wofür wir uns auch in der Zukunft entsprechend aufgestellt sehen.

Die Deutsche Bundesbank hat Haniel 2019 gleichbedeutend weiter mit der Notenbankfähigkeit eingestuft. Darüber hinaus ist Haniel bei allen beauftragten ­Ratingagenturen als Investment Grade eingestuft.

BAA3


Moody’s Investors Service (Moody’s)

Moody’s hat unser langfristiges Emittentenrating im April 2019 mit Baa3 bestätigt und den ­Ausblick mit „stabil“ bewertet.


BBB-


Scope Ratings AG (Scope)

Im April 2019 bestätigte Scope unsere Bonität mit einem langfristigen Emittentenrating von BBB- mit stabilem Ausblick.


03

Instrumente


Liquidität langfristig sichern

Um unseren Liquiditätsbedarf nachhaltig abzudecken, setzen wir auf einen diversifizierten Fremdfinanzierungsmix aus Bank- und Kapitalmarktfinanzierung. Dabei achten wir auf eine ausgewogene Fälligkeitsstruktur der abgeschlossenen Finanzierungsinstrumente und ausreichend freie Kreditlinien. Unsere bilateralen, fest zugesagten Kreditlinien ohne Financial Covenants verlängern wir regelmäßig. Als wichtige Bausteine in der Finanzierungsstrategie emittiert Haniel Commercial Papers sowie Anleihen auf dem Kapitalmarkt.

Zur Creditor Relations-Homepage

www.haniel.de/creditor-relations/